Waste Oil Heater > Fuel Oil Boilers

Waste oil boiler-design and where to start

(1/5) > >>

superduty_59:
I have been reading here for at least a year. I joined Yahoo alt fuels furnace and have read a lot there. I have been planning in my head and need to make a move this year. I need some help with some of the design. I will build a 12'x14' shed the house a converted fuel oil boiler. I am craigslist shopping for a good used deal. Hopefully a good used (the more the complete the better) system. I am a diesel tech. I'm not totally ignorant when it comes to this stuff. I understand the basic stuff but maybe I'm forgetting something of a way to do it better.

1) build shed about 30-40' from the house. Trench about 48" down to run the pre-made insulated boiler pipe. 2x 1" pex insulated inside a 4" field tile. Probably need an electrical run and 2 communications wire run.
2) heat exchanger for using my existing forced air furnace and ducting. I want to use boiler as the primary heat source and my LP furnace as a back up.
3) purchase a used boiler and use a CK kit to convert to waste motor oil.

Is there any sites to look at for all the little stuff that I need? I need help with knowing all the other stuff. Pumps, closed system? expansion tanks. aqua-stats. mixers. ect.

any help would be awesome!

doug:
my local plumbing shop helped me with the closed system, expansion tank, air bleeders, aqua-stat. most of the other stuff is from outdoor wood boiler set ups. pumps, mixer valves thermostat control.

superduty_59:
Thanks Doug. I kinda figured it would be similar to an OWB. I bet all those items add $ up to more than the used boiler. I do have a few pumps that I scavenged from some big (750-1250 kw) generators. Doug, what would be the minimum features in a basic system? Like aquastats, expansion tanks, ect. I'm trying to do this on a budget. I will not skimp on quality but may take longer to collect parts.

doug: