Author Topic: Got a Drip?  (Read 14110 times)

Cmdr. Ron

• Gettin' the fire started!
    • View Profile
Got a Drip?
« on: October 04, 2013, 11:49:41 am »
Howdy folk,

If you have or had a drip system, please share that experience & knowledge of
the Good & the bad, likes & dislikes, symptoms & remedies, changes, temperatures, fuel consumption - EVERYTHING.
(Inquiring minds & all that)
Thanks
Shalom!
Cmdr. Ron

Wrench

• View Profile
Re: Got a Drip?
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2015, 09:10:44 am »
Looks like my first post to this thread will also be my first post to this forum.  8)

I'm a mechanic - I'll fix anything with an engine, but mainly work on small engines. Been wanting to build a waste oil burner for YEARS, and just last month I FINALLY got around to doing so. I've had a Beckett powered #2 oil furnace heating my barn, up until '08 when the prices went crazy. Been freezing out there & just toughing it out the past 5 years, and only using what was left in the oil tank for emergencies.

I remember as a kid, my grandfather had built a Beckett powered waste oil burner out of a 55 gallon drum he lined with firebrick. I remember something about a "low pressure nozzle" ... but never got the details of how he made this thing work. NO compressed air, and NO electricity except to run the burner. I do remember him lighting it off using #2, and having the waste oil line wrapped beside the barrel to heat it up. Once burning, there wasn't even a wisp of smoke. Thing was amazing!! Been trying to copy that for years, and have failed at every turn. Sadly grandpa's knowledge is gone.  :-[